Italian cravings… specifically spaghetti

This summer my husband and I are taking our first trip to Europe together (yippee).  We are beyond excited and have been immersed in travel plans.  A big chunk of our journey will be spent in Italy.  Now let me tell you… you can only look at photos of Italy and its culture for so long before having some serious cravings!  Well I decided to act on my cravings this week… and it definitely paid off.  I had the kind of Italian craving that no jar of pasta sauce could fix… it was a homemade sauce I was looking for.   I didn’t really have a recipe in mind, so I came up with this on the fly.  It was really satisfying.  After our trip this summer I can better attest to its authenticity…

Homemade Spaghetti Marinara

1 lb cherry tomatoes, diced

1/4 C basil

1/4 C kalamata olive, diced

3 T capers

1 onion, diced

4 cloves garlic diced

4 T olive oil

1 C of tomato sauce (you can omit this for a chunkier version of the recipe)

1 t red pepper flakes

salt and pepper to taste

Sautee onion in olive oil until translucent, add garlic.  Once garlic turns golden add tomatoes, capers, basil, olives, pepper flakes and optional tomato sauce.  Let sauce simmer for about 30 minutes.

Pour sauce over pasta, top with freshly grated parmesan… Magnifico!

With love,

Rosie

One thought on “Italian cravings… specifically spaghetti

  1. Dear Jessie,

    This looks scrumptious! Thank you for sharing and thank you SO much for sharing your wonderful blog with me! I added your blog to my Blog Candy page and I am so happy that you are here in Blogland too.

    Love,
    Kim

Leave a Reply

