A peanut butter and jelly dreams are made of…

I can’t tell you my exact age… or even an accurate approximation other than young… but I remember vividly one of the best meals of my life.  It was a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

My parents were out on one of their date nights and my aunt was babysitting.  I remember giggling with her, playing games and then setting myself up in the living room to watch Sleeping Beauty.  I remember fast forwarding through the “scary” parts, laughing at the funny parts, and then realizing… I’d been having so much fun I had forgotten… I was hungry.  I asked my aunt for dinner.  She, not being more than 16, had a limited repertoire and whipped me up a pb&j with tortilla chips.  She served me the meal on a platter so I didn’t have to miss a moment of the movie.

I remember biting into that sandwich and thinking that it was the best thing I had ever eaten.  I told her, she laughed and we both turned our attention back to Princess Aurora and her Prince Charming.

Over the years I have tried to replicate that sandwich.  I have made some good pb&j’s, but none compare to the one I was served that evening.  Was it the grape jelly that made it so appealing?  Or maybe strawberry?  Was it whole wheat or white bread?    Could it be that I was using inferior peanut butter?  I doubt it… I think the memory of that peanut butter and jelly is filled with love and laughter that cannot be spread onto bread.

With love,

Rosie

One thought on “A peanut butter and jelly dreams are made of…

  1. My best friend loves her mom’s PB&J sandwiches so much that even in her early 40s she won’t make her own. Silly, right? Her daughters are all allergic to peanuts, so she doesn’t keep peanut butter in her house, which makes it slightly less silly. But boy, does she love her mom’s PB&Js.

Leave a Reply

