Wife of a climber

There are certain situations that bring out the differences between my husband and myself.  Our recent snowstorm is a perfect example.  My reaction is to stay inside and eat tons of calories in some sort of intuitive effort to keep warm.  My husband’s reaction is obvious to any climber:  Get out there while the ice is good!

Do I love him just the same despite this difference?  Yes…

Do I think he’s crazy?  Absolutely…

Do I worry about him?  Of course… But I know he’s safe.  He’s a great climber and very technically skilled.  When he goes on these excursions, one of my major concerns is his caloric intake.  My husband has a tendency to forget to eat!  I have never had that problem in my life, I don’t understand it and never will.  In an effort to ensure that he takes in adequate calories I have worked on a recipe for a high calorie energy bar to keep him going.  Any wife of a climber will be happy to hear that they taste good and can keep those “crazy” boys going all day.  They don’t look super appetizing, but they are and really easy to make.  The basic idea comes from a favorite of mine, no bake cookies.  The preparation is similar, only without chocolate and with honey replacing the sugar.

Peanut butter & honey energy bar

1 C honey

1 C peanut butter (I used natural, creamy)

2 3/4 C uncooked old-fashioned oatmeal

1/2 C peanuts

1 t vanilla extract

1 t cinnamon

Optional:  Any of the following would make a great addition to these bars:  chocolate chips, protein powder, coconut, other types of nuts, dried fruit…

The recipe is also good with almond butter replacing the peanut butter.

Combine peanut butter and honey in a pot over low heat until they become runny.  Add oatmeal, peanuts, vanilla and cinnamon and mix.  Pour finished mixture into cookie pan lined with parchment paper.  Allow to cool, then cut into bars.  I wrap them individually in Reynolds wrap so they are easy to grab and go.

This morning as my husband left for his climbing trip, I slipped a few in his pockets… Reminding him to stay warm and EAT!

With love,

Rosie

Leave a Reply

