Preschool ART Adventure

This summer I have been having way too much fun teaching art lessons at Ollie’s preschool.  Is there anything cuter than a handful of enthusiastic, 2 year old artists?  Not in my opinion.

I’ve been starting every lesson off with a book.  These kids crack me up!  The moment I sit down to read there are like 3 little ones backing their booties onto my lap!

IMG_1370This week we read Chicka Chicka Boom Boom.  This is a favorite in my house.  I can read it with my eyes closed and O laughs hysterically as he finishes every “Chicka Chicka” with a “Boom Boom”.

All of the kids loved the book just as much as O does.

Then came the art part!  We started by taping the first letter of each of their names… O for Oliver, A for Aiden…

Round 1 was oil pastels.  These little artists drew all kinds of fancy shmancy lines and shapes around their letters.

FullSizeRender (6)

Round 2 was painting watercolors with a brush.  The kids told me which color they wanted, and I loaded up the brush and let them GO TO TOWN.

Round 3 was kids’ favorite.  We used eye droppers to squirt liquid watercolors all over.  This had to be monitored pretty closely… They can get carried away with this pretty quickly.

screenshot-www.google.com 2015-06-08 14-47-41Round 4 is my favorite part:  SALT.  I love the effect salt has on watercolors.  If you’ve never played with this before, do.  The salt soaks up some of the pigment and when the paint is dry it leaves what looks like little crystals where each salt granule was.

When the paint is dry we simply peeled off the tape, wiped off the salt, and VOILA:  Chicka chicka boom boom art.

Sometimes I think that these kids are the true artists.  They have no fear.  Their work truly is an expression of them in that very moment.  How many of us can really create so freely?  Certainly not me.

FullSizeRender (5)  FullSizeRender (7)  FullSizeRender (14)

With love,

Rosie

Leave a Reply

