Apple pickin’ and the crisp that followed 

 Marker Miller is pretty much an institution in these parts.  It’s a lovely apple orchard that offers pick your own, has a market… and a PLAYGROUND!

The weather was feeling very fall-ish today, so we indulged.  Round of one of apple pickin’… Complete.

We picked a peck of golden delicious, which are my absolute favorite.  While we were at Marker Miller, we couldn’t possibly leave without cider donuts and ice cream.

I don’t think Marker Miller is not known for their ice cream, but they should be.  It is so incredibly creamy and the flavor is spot on.  We purchased the salted caramel and it has just the right amount of sweet and savory.

Upon leaving the orchard I had my vision… this ice cream with a crisp… and so it began…

         

The crisp that followed the orchard turned out perfectly.  The recipe is one I’ve used for so long that I have no source… some cookbook I came across years ago…and then changed over and over.  I’ve made it so many times that all the numbers have become quick approximations.  I can throw together this crisp without a recipe card, just going through the motions.


For Filling:

Fill a pie pan with peeled, chopped apples (4/5 apples), 1/2 C Sugar, 2 T tapioca

For Topping:

6 T butter, 3/4 C sugar, 3/4 C brown sugar ,2/3 C flour, 1/2 C oatmeal, dash salt, t vanilla, dash of cinnamon and nutmeg

Pre-heat oven to 350. Make filling first and let sit while assembling crisp.  Put crisp ingredients into mixer and stir until small chunks start to form.  Sprinkle crisp topping over apples.  Bake for 45-60 min, until bubbling in the center.

The flavor balance of the crisp was perfect.   I literally made myself sick on this stuff tonight… I just could not stop eating it!  I hope you and yours enjoys this crisp as much as me and mine did!

With love,

Rosie

Leave a Reply

