Art room week in review


What a fun week in the art room!  I’ve seen a couple new lessons come full circle and I couldn’t be happier with the results!  Painting is in full swing now and I made, what I consider to be a major development, this week… SPONGES!  I always have trouble with paint colors get mixed as the kiddos are working.  I put one brush in each color… and the brushes stay are to stay in that color… no mixing in the cup… great THEORY!  But in reality, little hands make mistakes!

So, this week, I decided to try sponges when color mixing.  This pumpkin painting is the perfect example.  The kiddos painted yellow paint on with a brush, and then used a sponge to dab red paint.  The yellow paint miraculously stayed yellow and the sponge created a nice texture.  VICTORY!

It’s the small things, people!

The leaves pictured below were made using a similar process.  They were painted by third graders and in addition to sponges, they used oil pastel rubbings to create texture.  I LOVE the results.  These leaves have so much depth that they almost glow!

IMG_3001

The Keith Haring inspired drawings that 4th graders started last week are finished!  They are sooooo much fun.  I can’t even look at them without smiling!

And this painting… NO WORDS.  Kids are such wonderfully, creative little beings.  I don’t think I could replicate this painting if I tried… The line quality and color choices are so unique.  I’m a little jealous of the family that this gets to keep this piece.

Just a few highlights from the week!  Happy FRIDAY!

With love,

Rosie

Leave a Reply

