Date night at home

So, I’m not sure what took me so long to figure this system out!  Galen and I always feel strapped for alone time.  Between work, kids, friends… It seems that we end up with the short stick.

Well, these last couple weeks we’ve been trying something new:  date night at home.  It has been such a treat at our house, I thought I’d share it with you.

So, it’s simple, and I bet 90% of you are like… DUH!  But, what we do is get the little dude his dinner… Then put in a movie for him (I usually try to avoid too much screen time, but sometimes it’s necessary for sanity!).  Then we eat our dinner… and TALK!  We never have time to just talk!  It’s been such a great way to reconnect.  We’ve been trying to do it once a week or so.

I’ll throw a little recipe at you that is a staple at our house:  Roasted chicken. We ate it at our last date night and as always, it was perfect.   It’s so easy and can be thrown together in so many different ways.  I love recipes that can be changed according to what you have in the house… and the only things you NEED for this recipe are chicken and olive oil, the rest is flexible.

Roasted Chicken

Olive Oil

Chicken Breast (3-4 for this cook time)

Seasoning

Vegetables (root vegetables work great!)

Preheat oven to 400.  Brush chicken breast with olive oil.  Season to your liking.  I usually add salt, pepper and garlic, but seasoning differently can yield interesting results!  Every now and then I throw some wine on at this step, or quartered lemons….  Put in large baking dish and drizzle a bit (3T-ish) more olive oil on top.

I put in the oven for about 10-15 minutes.  Then pull out and add veggies.  Sometimes I put in quartered red potatoes, sliced onions,  sometimes carrots, brusselsprouts are good, beets can be different and add nice color…  Just whatever veggie you have on hand!  If chicken seems dry at this point I add more olive oil.

Continue to bake for another 20 minutes or so.  Check chicken to see that’s it’s cooked through and serve.

It’s such an easy clean up too!  Just one pan.  A lot of times I will serve this with bread to soak up some of the juices and oils left in the pan.

This recipe is similar and a bit more specific if you prefer.  I like to keep it organic and flexible when I cook, but I know that’s not everyone’s way!

Date night and roasted chicken… Don’t mind if I do!

With love,

Rosie

Leave a Reply

